What A Mexican Wedding Can Teach You About Happiness

Sometimes a wedding in Mexico can last three days.

One of my corporate jobs had me traveling to Mexico quite a bit.

I got to know some of the people there really well.  Great people.  One invited me to his wedding.

I had trouble finding the church.  It was buried around the curve at the end of a dirt road.  You couldn’t see it from the main road, which wasn’t much of a main road itself.

I don’t speak Spanish.  But you don’t have to speak the language to see when people are happy.

I learned a lot that day:

1. Happiness does not require large sums of money.  From what I could tell, most of the people at the wedding that day did not have much.  But they were all smiling.  There was a great feeling and energy in the church when I walked in.  Happy people.

I remember the feeling when the bride walked down the aisle.  Everyone was so happy.  Gave me goosebumps.

2. Relationships are everything.  Weddings in the U.S. seem to contain a share of mis-matches and disappointments.  You can’t sit the ex-wife near the new wife, someone is mad at their sister, the flowers aren’t good enough, the photographer messed up.  Whatever.

At the Mexican wedding, no one cared about anything but being happy and appreciating each other.  Everyone that was there wanted to be there.  Only love for everyone in the building.   And everyone welcomed the new guy in the crowd they had never seen before (me) with open arms.

3. Celebrate. In corporate America (a vague thing), time is rarely taken to celebrate.  Even if the quarterly numbers come back ahead of expectations, someone is in trouble.  The numbers could have been better.  Celebration is seen as weakness.  You should be working harder instead.

I did not see this in Mexico, and the wedding was great illustration point.  There was 100% focus on celebration that day.  A definite recognition of something good.

4. Don’t spend time with people you don’t love.  This is related to number 2) above.  During the wedding and reception, which lasted into the next day, I only saw people getting along and having a great time.  This was before, during, and after the bar opened up.

I wondered if they had all learned the art of “deleting” toxic people from their life.  It’s important to walk away from people who take your energy away.  Sometimes, these are the people who you work hard to impress, or thought were your friends.  You can walk away.  It’s like losing weight and becoming healthy.  Maybe the people at the wedding had done that.

Again, I don’t speak Spanish, so I really couldn’t tell.  But they were all smiling.

Leave a Reply

